Staff & Board

The Daystar Staff

  • Melissa Trevathan, MRE
    Executive Director

    Melissa is Daystar's founder and Executive Director. She does assessments, oversees groups, leads our retreats, teaches adult classes, and holds private counseling sessions.

  • Sissy Goff, M.Ed, LPC-MHSP
    Director of Child & Adolescent Counseling,
    Director of Summer Programs

    Sissy spends her time in individual counseling, leading our girls' groups, and teaching parenting classes. She is also the Director of Summer Programs and our staff writer.

  • David Thomas, LMSW
    Director of Family Counseling

    David works with boys on an individual basis, meets with parents for consultations and teaches parenting classes in the Nashville community and beyond.


  • David Denton, MA, LPC-MHSP, TBRI Trained
    Director of Adoption and Special Needs

    David works with boys and young men individually and in group sessions. He is also a TBRI trained counselor. 

  • Emma Soechting, LPC-MHSP, TBRI Trained
    Girls' Counselor

    Emma counsels many young girls and adolescents through individual and group counseling. She is also a TBRI trained counselor. 

  • Sherman Bucher, MA
    Director of Groups

    Sherman sees boys of all ages, leading groups and on an individual basis.

  • Tommy Hart, LMSW
    Boys' Counselor

    Tommy counsels boys individually as well as in groups.  

  • Lauren Sotelo, MA, MFTI
    Girls' Counselor
  • Chelsea Keyser, M.Ed
    Girls' Counselor
  • Alex Hopkins, MA, LPC-MHSP
    Boys' Counselor
  • Bailey Shoulders, LMFT
    Girls' Counselor
  • Allye Gray, M.MMFT
    Girls' Counselor
  • Catherine Hebert, LMSW
    Girls' Counselor
  • Hannah Welbourn, MSW
    Girls' Counselor, Office Assistant
  • Don Logan, MMFT
    Boys' Counselor
  • Mary Berndt
    Operations Director
  • Mary Killett
    Office Assistant
  • Susan Berthiaume
    Account Manager
  • Kerry Watkins
    Business Manager
  • Katie Plunkett
    Development Staff
  • Aaron Weber
    Group Leader, Director of Boys Camp

The Daystar Pets

  • Blueberry Pancake
    The Sheepdog
  • Lucy
    The Havanese
  • Owen
    The Yellow Lab
  • Noel (1992-2008)
    The Maltese, our first pet therapist
  • Molasses (1997-2009)
    The Sheepdog
  • Jonah (1997-2010)
    The Black Lab
  • Honey
    The Golden Retriever
  • Pippa
    The Havenese

The Hopetown Staff

Graduate Counseling Interns

Amy Jacobs, Trevecca University
Russell Durdunji

Development Interns

Britt Johnsen, Vanderbilt University (Fall)
Jennifer Weissman, University of Mississippi (Fall)

Hopetown Senior Staff

Melissa Trevathan, M.R.E. 
Sissy Goff, M.Ed, LPC-MHSP
Kathleen Weber
Aaron Weber
Katie Bomar
Chelsea Keyser, M.Ed
Kenneth Littleton, Covenant College
Connor Brown, University of Tennessee Chattanooga
Ellen Radcliff, Samford University

Hopetown Interns

Anne Grace Cox, University of Virginia
Michael Crowther, Auburn University
Casey Flow, Abilene Christian University
Hayley Fuller, University of Georgia
Taylor Hays, Belmont University
Lilly Kate Hollis, Samford University
Gracie Marks, University of Georgia
Grace Paddison, Belmont University
William Reilly, University of Tennessee Knoxville


The Daystar Board

Board of Directors

Mrs. Jane Smith, Chairman
Ms. Melissa Trevathan, Ex-Officio
Mrs. Jackie Brown
Mrs. Katie Douglas

Mr. Jon Lucas
Mr. Mark Sullivan
Mrs. Jamee Thompson
Mrs. Emily Tulloch

Honorary Board

Mr. Trace Blankenship
Mrs. Mimi Heldman
Mrs. Corinne Kidd
Mrs. Carissa Pereira
Mr. Gif Thornton
Mrs. Donna VanHooydonk


Advisory Board 

Dr. Dan Allender
Dr. Nancy Beveridge
Mrs. Nancy Brasher
Mr. Sigmund Brouwer
Mrs. Cindy Morgan Brouwer
Mrs. Amy Grant
Mrs. Elena Graves
Ms. Lisa Harper
Mr. Terry Hemmings
Mrs. Robbie Jackson
Ms. Belle Johnson
Mr. Jim Knestrick
Mrs. Pepper Magargee
Mrs. Debbie Alan McCurdy
Mr. Bruce McCurdy
Ms. Bunny Porter-Shirley
Mr. John VanHooydonk
Mrs. Elizabeth Wallace